When is facebook updating to timeline


10-Jul-2019 06:30

I turned on Timeline early, back in September, to learn as much as I could about it and put together some answers and tips for people when Timeline became non-optional. You can also take a tour of Timeline in the slideshow, in case you want to get a closer look at some of the editing option and other buttons without turning it on. A: Timeline is a section of a Facebook user's account that replaces the Profile and Wall pages, and merges them together.

It shows the story of your life, as you choose to tell it or as Facebook has recorded it, in a visual, scrolling, reverse-chronologically ordered timeline. When you log into Facebook and go to Facebook.com, that feed page of Recent Stories will still be the same.

To submit your questions or ideas, or to simply learn more about It Still Works, contact us.

Facebook yesterday officially announced that over the "next few weeks" it will roll out Timeline to all users.

Fun fact: Facebook Timeline was accidentally released very briefly to the public back in December 2010 when it was called "Facebook Memories," but it was promptly removed. A: Go to the Facebook Timeline announcement page and look at the bottom of the page for a green button that says "Get Timeline." If you press this button, there is no undo! Q: How do I edit what appears on Timeline and who can see it?You can select one of your existing Facebook photos, take a new photo using your webcam or upload a photo from your computer.Click the gear-shaped button at the top of the page and select "Privacy Settings." Click "Timeline and Tagging" and then click the "View As" link to see how your Timeline looks to the public.These miniature profile pictures cannot be removed but they change when you change your profile photo.

This article was written by the It Still Works team, copy edited and fact checked through a multi-point auditing system, in efforts to ensure our readers only receive the best information.And if you don't take this step, Facebook will automatically turn on your Timeline within the next few weeks. A: Status updates, photos, friendships made, as well as job history, marital status changes, and other information that you've recorded in your profile. Every Timeline entry has two icons for editing: a pen icon in the upper right corner where you can hide or delete the object, and a cog or silhouette (depending on the type of object) found next to the time or date of the activity, that lets you adjust who can see the activity. Additional images in the slideshow illustrate these two editing principles in more detail.